Idiomacy of English vs Russian

tpic33_globeYesterday late in the evening on the Business English lesson learning the idioms one of the students noticed that all English idioms are kind of inverse of Russian idioms.

Hm, I have looked as some of it. Here is the result. Russian variant is presented like word-for-word  translation, to demonstrate the difference in mentality.

English variant: stick and carrot policy.

Russian variant : lash and cake policy.

Then to my mind came several idioms from Business English.

English variant: dog-eat-dog.

Russian variant: snake-eat-snake.

In one of the recent posts of OUP blog was mentioned an idiom – to shoot the puppy.

Russian variant would be the same with the only exception of the animal, instead of puppy there is a horse.

And finally one of my favourite idioms, to be a wet blanket.

Russian variants sounds as to be a rag.

So, two languages-two worlds. 🙂

About Helen Stepanova

I am an English language teacher, teacher trainer and author. Having received my education in linguistics (BA) and business administration (MBA), I have successfully combined my skills teaching Business English in various Latvian business schools and universities. I have been working in the field of ELT for 14 years and 3 years ago started my own English language courses ''Bright World'' (www.brightworld.lv). I am interested into popularization of independent language learning; as a result of it I have been writing the articles to support this idea. I am a keen lover of foreign languages and currently am learning French.
Image | This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

